2013 Denver Broncos-Shaun Phillips Wants To ‘Make Diamonds’

Share/Bookmark

Shaun Phillips

Denver Broncos Linebacker Shaun Phillips has a huge chip on his shoulder. Not only did he have no idea that he would actually be replacing Von Miller for the first six games of the 2013 NFL season, he is annoyed that many imply he can’t be as effective as he has been in the past. Initially, Phillips was brought in to help fill the Elvis Dumervil void on defense, and now he’s a key figure to our defensive pass rush without #58 and Dumervil.

When asked whether or not he’s worried about this task, Phillips said,

“I’ve been in the league 10 years, if I’ve got pressure now, something’s wrong.”

“We don’t have to do more because Von’s not here. We just have to do what we do. Me, personally, I’ve been playing football for 10 years. I think I’ve been successful without Von so far.”

Shaun came to Denver because he wants to win a Super Bowl. After signing with the team in March, he said he was “on the good side now.” He told, then reporter for the Denver Post, Jeff Legwold, now a Broncos reporter for ESPN,

“After about five minutes in this building, I knew this was the spot, just the guys they have around here, guys that want to win. I’ve called it a no-brainer, because if I didn’t sign here it probably meant I lost my mind.”

It didn’t take long for fans to move past his tenure with the San Diego Chargers. All most had to do was imagine him sacking Philip Rivers instead of Peyton Manning and they were cured of their hatred for the guy. Initially he had two teams in mind, Denver or the Houston Texans. The Oakland Raiders offered him a nice contract, but he had to pass.

“At this point in my career, I’ve made some money. I’ve done that, so it was really just down to do you go to the team that pays you the most money and you have a miserable season? Or do you go to a team that will take care of you and give you a chance to win?”